2009 JJA Jazz Awards Winners Announced

2009 JJA Jazz Awards Winners Announced

JJA honors Maria Schneider as both composer and arranger of the year.
Photo by Bill King

The Jazz Journalists Association has announced the winners of the 2009 Jazz Awards, honoring more than 40 musicians, presenters, jazz supporters, and jazz journalists for their achievements.

Among them:

Lifetime Achievement in Jazz
Lee Konitz

Musician of the Year
Sonny Rollins

Up & Coming Artist of the Year
Esperanza Spalding

Composer of the Year
Maria Schneider

Arranger of the Year
Maria Schneider

Recipients receive engraved statuettes from the JJA, an international organization of some 450 writers, broadcasters, photographers, and new media producers.

A complete list of winners is available here. (—Condensed from the press release)

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.