2010 Paul Revere Awards Announced

2010 Paul Revere Awards Announced

The winners of the 2010 Paul Revere Awards, which honor graphic excellence in printed music, were announced at the annual meeting of the Music Publishers Association of the United States held at the Harvard Club in New York City on June 4, 2010. Out of the 98 submissions, a total of 34 publications issued by 19 different music publishers were honored. Award-winning works include Joan Tower’s Purple Rhapsody (Associated Music Publishers/G. Schirmer, Peter Simcich, editor) which was singled out for Best Engraving; Ricky Ian Gordon’s opera The Grapes of Wrath (Carl Fischer Music, design by Andrew J. Dowty), which was awarded Best Cover Design; and Henry Brant’s orchestration book, Textures and Timbres (also Carl Fischer and Andrew J. Dowty), which was awarded Best Book Design. Among the other award-winning scores were works by William Bolcom, Dave Brubeck, Elliott Carter, Kenneth Fuchs, Nancy Galbraith, John Harbison, Henry Mollicone, Bright Sheng, and Roberto Sierra. Below is a complete list of the 2010 winners in 11 award categories:

Octavo Sheet Music (Single titles)
Stephen Hatfield: Flying Colours (Boosey & Hawkes, Inc.)—1st Prize
Bright Sheng: Boatmen’s Song (G. Schirmer, Inc.)—2nd Prize
Nancy Galbraith: O Magnum Mysterium (Subito Music Corp.)—3rd Prize

Octavo Sheet Music (Collections and Large Works)
Jack Schrader: The Passion and Glory of the Risen Christ (Hope Publishing Co.)—1st Prize

Folio (Popular)
Duane Allman Guitar Anthology (Hal Leonard)—1st Prize (tie)
Guns N’ Roses: Chinese Democracy (Hal Leonard)—1st Prize (tie)
Jeanine Tesori: Shrek, the Musical (Cherry Lane Publishing)—2nd Prize (tie)
Steve Hunter: Hymns for Guitar (Cherry Lane Publishing)—2nd Prize (tie)
Harold Arlen: The Wizard of Oz, 70th Anniversary Edition (Alfred Music Publishing)—3rd Prize

Folio (Educational)
Henry Brant: Textures and Timbres (Carl Fischer Music)—1st Prize
Error Detection (Carl Fischer Music)—2nd Prize (tie)
The Harmony of Bill Evans (Hal Leonard)—2nd Prize (tie)
Guitar Workout (Hal Leonard)—3rd Prize (tie)
Measures of Success, Clarinet Book (The FJH Music Company)—3rd Prize (tie)

Folio (Standard)
Dave Brubeck: Time Out (Alfred Music Publishing)—1st Prize (tie)
The Rachel Barton Pine Collection (Carl Fischer Music)—1st Prize (tie)

Folio (Children’s Educational)
Best of Metallica: Violin (Cherry Lane Publishing)—1st Prize
Guitar for Kids (Hal Leonard)—2nd Prize

Folio (Full Score)
Artur Schnabel: String Quartet No. 4 (Peermusic Classical)—1st Prize
William Bolcom: First Symphony for Band (E.B. Marks Music Co.)—2nd Prize
Behzad Ranjbaran: Seven Passages (Theodore Presser Co.)—3rd Prize (tie)
Bright Sheng: Two Poems From the Sung Dynasty (G. Schirmer, Inc.)—3rd Prize (tie)

Folio (Vocal Score)
Ricky Ian Gordon: The Grapes of Wrath (Carl Fischer Music)—1st Prize
Henry Mollicone: Gabriel’s Daughter (ECS Publishing)—2nd Prize

Folio (Solos with Accompaniment)
Artur Schnabel: Piano Concerto (Peermusic Classical)—1st Prize (tie)
W.A. Mozart: Adagio Quasi Fantasia, K. 396 (International Music Co.)—1st Prize (tie)
John Harbison: Concerto for Bass Viol (Associated Music Publishers/G. Schirmer)—2nd Prize (tie)
Joan Tower: Purple Rhapsody (Associated Music Publishers/G. Schirmer)—2nd Prize (tie)

Folio (Chamber Ensemble)
Elliott Carter: Clarinet Quintet (Hendon Music/Boosey & Hawkes, Inc.)—1st Prize (tie)
Joan Tower: Incandescent (Associated Music Publishers/ G. Schirmer)—1st Prize (tie)
Edward Edgar: Serenade in E minor, Op. 20 (International Music Co.)—2nd Prize
Aaron Copland: Four Piano Blues (Boosey & Hawkes, Inc.)—3rd Prize (tie)
Roberto Sierra: Recordando una Melodia Olvidada (Subito Music Corp.)—3rd Prize (tie)

Collated Music
Kenneth Fuchs: United Artists (Piedmont)—1st Prize

Draft proposals for significant changes for the awards in 2011 and going forward were also announced. In the future, submissions delivered electronically will also be admissible, plus classical and popular music will be judged together resulting in a reduction to eight award categories: electronic media, choral, piano, guitar, piano/vocal, full score, full score with parts, and chamber music.

Also, the recent death of John Forbes was acknowledged during the awards ceremony. Forbes served as a music editor for Boosey and Hawkes for several decades and was responsible for the engraving of many published scored including Stephen Hatfield’s Flying Colours, which received the top prize in the Octavo Sheet Music category.

Submissions for the 2010 Paul Revere Awards were reviewed by a jury of four judges, two to judge engraving, one to judge utility, and the fourth to judge design. Each judge gives a score from 1 to 5 based on their specific adjudicatory domain and then each submission’s score is totaled from 1 to 20. Winners are chosen from scores with the highest points. The 2010 judges were: Maria Reidelbach, who served as the design judge; composer George Boziwick of the New York Public Library, who served as the utility judge; and composers Bruce Taub, former head of publishing for C.F. Peters and the editor of the SCI Journal of Music Scores, and Hayes Biggs, who teaches theory at the Manhattan School of Music, served as the engraving judges.

Last year, an exhibit of the 2009 Paul Revere Award-winning scores toured to nine libraries across the United States.


Sign up for our monthly NewMusicBox newsletter

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.