2011 Guggenheim Fellows Announced

2011 Guggenheim Fellows Announced

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation has selected 180 scholars, artists, and scientists (from a group of almost 3,000 applicants) to receive fellowships in its 87th annual competition for the United States and Canada.

In the music fields, the recipients are:

Music Composition
Philippe Bodin
Chaya Czernowin
David Fiuczynski
Fred Ho
Earl M. Howard
Louis Samuel Karchin
Amy Kirsten
Marilyn Shrude
Manuel Sosa
Toby Twining
Randy Weston

Music Research
Simon Morrison
Jonathan Robert Pieslak

The complete list of awardees—working in subject areas from applied mathematics to medieval history—is available here.

Since its establishment in 1925, the foundation has granted nearly $290 million in fellowships to more than 17,000 individuals.

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.