2012-13 ASCAP Awards for Adventurous Orchestra Programming Announced

2012-13 ASCAP Awards for Adventurous Orchestra Programming Announced

League of American Orchestras’ 68th National Conference

Welcome to the League of American Orchestras’ 68th National Conference in St. Louis

Nineteen American orchestras have been recognized with 2012-13 ASCAP Awards for Adventurous Programming at the League of American Orchestras’ 68th National Conference in St. Louis. ASCAP and the League present the awards each year to orchestras of all sizes for programs that challenge the audience, build the repertoire, and increase interest in the music of our time. Approximately $725,000 has been bestowed on orchestras since the awards were established in 1947. Below is a complete list of the winning orchestras and their music directors.

John S. Edwards Award for Strongest Commitment to New American Music
Albany Symphony Orchestra – David Alan Miller, Music Director and Conductor

Morton Gould Award for Innovative Programming
South Dakota Symphony Orchestra – Delta David Gier, Music Director

Leonard Bernstein Award for Educational Programming
New York Philharmonic – Alan Gilbert, Music Director

Award for American Programming on Foreign Tours
Orpheus Chamber Orchestra

Awards for Programming of Contemporary Music:

Group 1 Orchestras
1st Place: Los Angeles Philharmonic – Gustavo Dudamel, Music Director
2nd Place: Seattle Symphony Orchestra – Ludovic Morlot, Music Director
3rd Place: Nashville Symphony – Giancarlo Guerrero, Music Director

Group 2 Orchestras
1st Place: Orpheus Chamber Orchestra
2nd Place: Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra – Jeffrey Kahane, Artistic Director
3rd Place: Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra – JoAnn Falletta, Music Director

Group 3/4 Orchestras
1st Place: Santa Rosa Symphony – Bruno Ferrandis, Music Director and Conductor

Group 5/6 Orchestras
1st Place: Berkeley Symphony – Joana Carneiro, Music Director
2nd Place: Boston Modern Orchestra Project – Gil Rose, Artistic Director
3rd Place: San José Chamber Orchestra – Barbara Day Turner, Music Director/Conductor

Group 7/8 Orchestras
1st Place: Lexington Symphony – Jonathan McPhee, Music Director
2nd Place: Michigan Philharmonic – Nan Washburn, Music Director and Conductor
3rd Place: New England Philharmonic – Richard Pittman, Music Director

Collegiate Orchestras
1st Place: Ithaca College Symphony Orchestra – Jeffery Meyer, Director of Orchestras

Youth Orchestras
1st Place: Youth Orchestras of San Antonio – Troy Peters, Music Director

1st Place: Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music, Marin Alsop, Music Director and Conductor

Orchestras are evaluated for these awards based on the amount of music composed during the last 25 years performed. A complete list of qualifying repertoire performed during the 2012-2013 season by this year’s award-winning orchestras is available as a PDF on the League of American Orchestras’ website.

(—from the League of American Orchestras press release)

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

One thought on “2012-13 ASCAP Awards for Adventurous Orchestra Programming Announced

  1. Pingback: Adventurous Orchestras | Classical Conditioning

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.