2013 Guggenheim Fellows Announced

2013 Guggenheim Fellows Announced


In its 89th annual competition for the United States and Canada, the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation has awarded 175 fellowships to artists, scientists, and scholars. The successful candidates were chosen from a group of some 3,000 applicants.

In the category of “Creative Arts: Music Composition,” this year’s awardees are:

Kati Agócs
Marcos Balter
Benjamin Broening
Aaron Einbond
Myra Melford
Carman Moore
Paul Moravec
Jean-Michel Pilc
Narong Prangcharoen
Mathew Rosenblum
Sheila Silver

Guggenheim Fellows are appointed “on the basis of achievement and exceptional promise.” Since its establishment in 1925, the foundation has granted over $281 million in fellowships to more than 17,000 individuals.

(—from the website)

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

One thought on “2013 Guggenheim Fellows Announced

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.