Ben Hjertmann
2014 Barlow Winners Announced

2014 Barlow Winners Announced

Ben Hjertmann

Ben Hjertmann

The Barlow Endowment for Music Composition at Brigham Young University has announced commission winners for 2014. After reviewing 280 composer applications from 30 countries worldwide, the judging panel awarded Ben Hjertmann of Chicago, Illinois (now living in North Carolina and teaching at Appalachian State University), the $12,000 Barlow Prize to compose a major new work for saxophone quartet. The panel also granted Steven Bryant of Durham, North Carolina, the distinction of honorable mention in this competition.

In considering nearly 100 applications in the general and LDS commissioning programs, the endowment granted a total of $62,000 to ten composers. (Composers who belong to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, as well as any composer willing to engage LDS subject matter, may apply to the LDS commissioning program.)

The winners will write works for the following ensembles and musicians:

Dan Trueman (So Percussion and Jack Quartet)
Mikel Kuehn (Spektral Quartet)
Peter Van Zandt Lane (EQ Ensemble)
Christopher Fisher-Lochhead (Spektral Quartet)
Ted Hearne (Roomful of Teeth)
Mark Engebretson (Bent Frequency)

Chad Cannon (Farallon Quintet)
Steven Ricks (Manhattan String Quartet)
Matthew Nielsen (BYU Singers)
Curtis Smith (Bryan Lew/violist)

The judging panel included the endowment’s board of advisers: Todd Coleman, Stacy Garrop, Christian Asplund, James Mobberley, and Leilei Tian. Ethan Wickman served as a guest judge in most of the deliberations. Zachary Shemon, Stephen Page, and Ryan Janus represented the PRISM, ZZYZX, and United States Air Force saxophone quartets respectively in selecting the Barlow Prize. These ensembles form the endowment’s performing consortium that will premiere the new work in 2016.

Next year’s Barlow Prize will feature a new work for orchestra. Details for this commission will be available soon.

(–from the press release)

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

7 thoughts on “2014 Barlow Winners Announced

  1. Stephan Moore

    The silence is deafening here. I am hoping that someone will offer an explanation. I congratulate the winners — they are not responsible for the demographic results of the process. But it does raise serious questions about what’s going on behind the scenes. opensignal’s posted article is eye-opening.

    Also, I am not clear — is New Music Box only reporting on this award, or is this an award that New Music USA was involved in administering? If it’s merely reportage, then they are not accountable for anything other than getting the headline wrong. It should read: “Women totally excluded from winner’s circle in major composition award”. However, if NMUSA was involved in the process of awarding, they should offer some explanation. Maybe someone can at least clear up the relationship of NMUSA to this?

    Stephan, NewMusicBox regularly reports on the Barlow and other major awards. New Music USA has absolutely nothing to do with administering this award. —NewMusicBox Staff

  2. Pingback: Benjamin Hjertmann ’07 » 2007 Class News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.