24 Orchestras Receive ASCAP Awards for Adventurous Programming

24 Orchestras Receive ASCAP Awards for Adventurous Programming

Twenty-four American orchestras received 2011-12 ASCAP Awards for Adventurous Programming at the League of American Orchestras’ 67th Annual Conference in Dallas. ASCAP and the League present the awards each year to orchestras of all sizes “for programs that challenge the audience, build the repertoire, and increase interest in music of our time.”

This year’s winners are:

2011-12 ASCAP Awards for Adventurous Programming

John S. Edwards Award for Strongest Commitment to New American Music
South Dakota Symphony Orchestra, Delta David Gier, Music Director

Morton Gould Award for Innovative Programming
San Francisco Symphony, Michael Tilson Thomas, Music Director

Leonard Bernstein Award for Educational Programming
Minnesota Orchestra, Osmo Vänskä, Music Director

Award for American Programming on Foreign Tours
San Francisco Symphony Youth Orchestra, Donato Cabrera, Music Director

Awards for Programming of Contemporary Music

Group 1 Orchestras
First Place: Los Angeles Philharmonic, Gustavo Dudamel, Music Director
Second Place: Nashville Symphony, Giancarlo Guerrero, Music Director
Third Place: The Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra

Group 2 Orchestras
First Place: Alabama Symphony Orchestra, Justin Brown, Music Director
Second Place: New World Symphony, America’s Orchestral Academy, Michael Tilson Thomas, Artistic Director
Third Place: Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra, Arild Remmereit, Music Director

Group 3/4 Orchestras
First Place: Chicago Sinfonietta, Mei-Ann Chen, Music Director

Group 5/6 Orchestras
First Place: American Composers Orchestra, Robert Beaser, Artistic Director; George Manahan, Music Director; Derek Bermel, Creative Advisor
Second Place: Boston Modern Orchestra Project, Gil Rose, Artistic Director
Third Place: Peoria Symphony Orchestra, George Stelluto, Music Director and Conductor

Group 7/8 Orchestras
First Place: Northwest Symphony Orchestra, Anthony Spain, Music Director
Second Place: The Lake Superior Chamber Orchestra, Warren Friesen, Artistic Director and Conductor
Third Place: Yakima Symphony Orchestra, Lawrence Golan, The Helen N. Jewett Music Director

Collegiate Orchestras
First Place: Cornell University Orchestra, Chris Younghoon Kim, Director of Orchestras
Second Place: Ithaca College Symphony Orchestra, Jeffery Meyer, Director of Orchestras
Third Place: Lamont Symphony Orchestra, Lawrence Golan, Music Director and Conductor

Youth Orchestras
First Place: Contemporary Youth Orchestra, Liza Grossman, Music Director
Second Place: Chicago Youth Symphony Orchestras, Allen Tinkham, Music Director

First Place: Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music, Marin Alsop, Music Director and Conductor
Second Place: Aspen Music Festival and School, Robert Spano, Music Director

(—from the press release)

Sign up for our monthly NewMusicBox newsletter

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

One thought on “24 Orchestras Receive ASCAP Awards for Adventurous Programming

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.