Albany Symphony. David Alan Miller, music director
27 Orchestras Honored with 2013-14 ASCAP Awards For Adventurous Programming

27 Orchestras Honored with 2013-14 ASCAP Awards For Adventurous Programming

Albany Symphony. David Alan Miller, music director

Albany Symphony. David Alan Miller, music director

Twenty-seven American orchestras will be recognized with 2013-14 ASCAP Awards for Adventurous Programming at the League of American Orchestras’ national conference currently underway in Seattle.

ASCAP and the League present the awards each year to orchestras of all sizes for programs that challenge the audience, build the repertoire, and increase interest in the music of our time. Approximately $750,000 has been bestowed on orchestras since the awards were established in 1947.

Below is a complete list of this year’s winners:

John S. Edwards Award for Strongest Commitment to New American Music ($3,000)
Albany Symphony—David Alan Miller, Music Director

Morton Gould Award for Innovative Programming ($3,000)
Los Angeles Philharmonic—Gustavo Dudamel, Music Director

Award for American Programming on Foreign Tours
San Francisco Symphony—Michael Tilson Thomas, Music Director

ASCAP Awards for Programming of Contemporary Music

Group 1 Orchestras
First Place: Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra—Kyu-Young Kim, Senior Director of Artistic Planning; Patrick Castillo, former Senior Director of Artistic Planning
Second Place: St. Louis Symphony—David Robertson, Music Director
Third Place: Seattle Symphony Orchestra—Ludovic Morlot, Music Director

Group 2 Orchestras
First Place: Alabama Symphony Orchestra
Second Place: Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra—JoAnn Falletta, Music Director
Third Place: New Jersey Symphony Orchestra—Jacques Lacombe, Music Director

Group 3/4 Orchestras
First Place: Spokane Symphony—Eckart Preu, Music Director
Second Place: New Haven Symphony Orchestra—William Boughton, Music Director
Third Place: Louisiana Philharmonic Orchestra—Carlos Miguel Prieto, Adelaide Wisdom Benjamin Music Director and Principal Conductor

Group 5/6 Orchestras
First Place: American Composers Orchestra—George Manahan, Music Director; Derek Bermel, Artistic Director
Second Place: Berkeley Symphony—Joana Carneiro, Music Director
Third Place: San José Chamber Orchestra—Barbara Day Turner, Music Director/Conductor

Group 7/8 Orchestras
First Place: The Laredo Phil—Brendan Townsend, Music Director & Conductor
Second Place: Michigan Philharmonic—Nan Washburn, Music Director and Conductor
Third Place: Pioneer Valley Symphony—Paul Phillips, Music Director and Conductor

Collegiate Orchestras
First Place: Lamont Symphony Orchestra—Lawrence Golan, Music Director & Conductor
Second Place: Cornell Orchestras—Chris Younghoon Kim, Director of Orchestras
Third Place: Peabody Symphony, Concert, and Modern Orchestras—Hajime Teri Murai and Harlan Parker, music directors

Youth Orchestras
First Place: Chicago Youth Symphony Orchestras—Allen Tinkham, Music Director
Second Place: New York Youth Symphony—Joshua Gersen, Music Director
Third Place: Orange County School of the Arts Symphony Orchestra—Christopher Russell, Music Director

First Place: Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music—Marin Alsop, Music Director
Second Place: Sewanee Summer Music Festival—Katherine Lehman, Director
Third Place: Aspen Music Festival and School—Robert Spano, Music Director

A complete repertoire list is posted here.

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.