39 Young Composers to Receive 2009 ASCAP/Morton Gould Awards

39 Young Composers to Receive 2009 ASCAP/Morton Gould Awards

ASCAP Foundation President Marilyn Bergman has announced the recipients of the 2009 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards. The 39 young composers will be recognized at the 10th Annual ASCAP Concert Music Awards at The Times Center in New York on May 21, 2009.

The award-winning composers share prizes of approximately $45,000, including the Leo Kaplan Award, in memory of the distinguished attorney who served as ASCAP Special Distribution Advisor, the Charlotte V. Bergen Scholarship for a composer 18 years of age or younger, and grants from The ASCAP Foundation Jack and Amy Norworth and Morton Gould Funds. Morton Gould, a Pulitzer Prize-winning composer, served as president of ASCAP and The ASCAP Foundation from 1986 to 1994. Jack Norworth wrote such standards as “Shine On Harvest Moon” and “Take Me Out to the Ballgame.” The awards are also sponsored by Sibelius, the music notation software company, which awards the recipients free software.

The 2009 Morton Gould Young Composer Award recipients are listed with their current residence and place of origin:

  • Victor Agudelo of Memphis, TN (Medellin, Colombia)
  • Andy Akihoof New York, NY (Columbia, SC)
  • Juhi Bansal of Pasadena, CA (Chandigarh, India)
  • Ryan DeNardis of Aliquippa, PA (Hopewell, PA)
  • Simon Fink of Chicago, IL (Carrboro, NC)
  • Sean Friar of Princeton, NJ (Santa Monica, CA)
  • Ruby Fulton of Baltimore, MD (Cherokee, IA)
  • David Kirkland Garner of Durham, NC (Atlanta, GA)
  • Michael Gilbertson of Dubuque, IA
  • Ted Hearne of New Haven, CT (Chicago, IL)
  • Leo Hurley of Winston-Salem, NC (Rollinsford, NH)
  • Shawn Jaeger of Chicago, IL (Louisville, KY)
  • Christopher Kapica of Carmel, NY
  • Elizabeth A. Kelly of Rochester, NY (New York, NY)
  • Missy Mazzoli of Brooklyn, NY (Abington, PA)
  • Clint Needham of Bloomington, IN (Texarkana, TX)
  • Andrew Norman of New Haven, CT (Grand Rapids, MI)
  • Sam Pluta of New York, NY (Rockeville, CT)
  • Gitty Razaz New York, NY (Tehran, Iran)
  • Steven Rice of Rochester, NY (Lawrence, KS)
  • Steven Snowden of Austin, TX (Walnut Shade, MO)
  • Paul Swartzel of Durham, NC (Raleigh, NC)
  • Christopher Trapani of Paris, France (New Orleans, LA)
  • Jude Vaclavik of New York, NY (Houston, TX)
  • Wang Lu of New York, NY (Xi’ an, China)
  • Daniel Wohl of Brooklyn, NY (Paris, France)

The following composers received Honorable Mention:

  • Abbie Betinis of St. Paul, MN (Stevens Point, WI)
  • Lisa Coons of Philadelphia, PA (Macon, MO)
  • Daniel Thomas Davis of Brooklyn, NY (Waxhaw, NC)
  • Osnat Netzer of Cambridge, MA (Israel)
  • Spencer Topel of Hanover, NH (Denver, CO)
  • Jie Wang of New York, NY (Shanghai, China).

The youngest ASCAP Foundation composer Award recipients range in age from 10 to 18 and are listed by state of residence:

  • Preben Antonsen, age 17 (CA)
  • Yuri Boguinia, age 17 (CO)
  • Eleanor Bragg, age 12 (MA)
  • Graham Cohen, age 10 (AZ)
  • Dmitri Gaskin, age 13 (CA)
  • Peng-Peng Gong, age 16 (NY)
  • Jay Greenberg, age 17 (NY)
  • Yeeren I. Low, age 12 (PA)
  • Nicholas Mariscal, age 16 (AZ)
  • Hilary Purrington, age 18 (MA)
  • Murray Skolnick, age 13 (MA)
  • Allegra Gabriella Smith, age 17 (CA)
  • Conrad Tao, age 14 (NY)

In the youngest category, the following composers received Honorable Mention:

  • Gabrielle Haigh, age 16 (OH)
  • Jeremiah Klarman, age 16 (MA)

The ASCAP composer/judges were: Samuel Adler, Eve Beglarian, Steven Burke, Daniel Felsenfeld, Charles Fussell, Michael Gordon, and Melinda Wagner. (—Condensed from the press release)

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.