AAAL Announces 2001 Award Winners: Other Winners

AAAL Announces 2001 Award Winners: Other Winners

James Barry
James Barry is a doctoral student at Florida State University. He earned his Master of Music at the University of Texas at Austin and his Bachelor of Music from the University of South Florida. His principal teachers are Ladislave Kubiak, Dan Welcher, Donald Grantham, Stephen Montague, Mark Schultz, James Lewis, and Paul Reller.

Braxton Blake
Braxton Blake, a native of Galveston, TX, attended the University of Houston and Eastman School of Music. His principal teachers include Francis J. Pyle, Samuel Adler, Warren Benson, and Joseph Schwantner. He has also studied at the Bayreuth Festival, the Dartington Festival, and the Staatliche Musikhochschule Stuttgart. His music is published by Theodore Presser and Columbia University Music Press.

Michael Djupstrom
Michael Djupstrom is an undergraduate student at the University of Michigan. His principal composition instructors include Susan Botti, Bright Sheng, and Erik Santos. He has been awarded a Theodore Presser Scholarship, a National Merit Scholarship, and he was a finalist for the 2000 ASCAP Young Composers’ Awards.

Hubert Cliff Ho
Hubert Cliff Ho is enrolled in the M.A./Ph.D. program in music composition at the University of California, Berkeley. He earned a joint A.B. cum laude in music and physics from Harvard University. His composition teachers include John Thow, Olly Wilson, Cindy Cox, Mario Davidovsky, Bernard Rands, and Jeff Nichols. He received first prize from the National Association of Composers USA Young Composers Competition and has had his music performed at a Society of Composers, Inc. National Student Conference, June in Buffalo, Music 99 at the University of Cincinnati, and the Atlantic Center for the Arts.

Sally Lamb
Sally Lamb is a Lecturer at Ithaca College. She earned her D.M.A. and M.F.A. from Cornell University, her B.F.A. from the California Institute of the Arts, and also attended the University of Toronto. Her composition teachers include Steven Stucky, Roberto Sierra, Mel Powell, Barry Schrader, and Alan Chaplin. She has received a Direct Support Grant from the Community Arts Partnership in Tompkins County, NY, and a Meet The Composer grant.

Tom Swafford
Tom Swafford is a Ph.D. student at the University of California at Berkeley, where he earned his M.A. in composition. He earned his B.A. degree from Tufts University. His composition teachers include Edwin Duger, Olly Wilson, Richard Felciano, Andrew Imbrie, T.J. Anderson, and Samuel Adler. He was awarded the Roslyn Schneider Eisner Prize for Composition by UC Berkeley, and the Mabel Daniels Prize for Music at Tufts. He has attended the June in Buffalo workshop.

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.