ASCAP Presents 10th Annual Concert Music Awards

ASCAP Presents 10th Annual Concert Music Awards

The 10th annual ASCAP Concert Music Awards recognized winners at a ceremony tonight in New York City.

Those being honored this year were:

  • Jack Beeson: Composer, Educator, Distinguished Musical Citizen, in celebration of his 50 years of ASCAP membership, and in gratitude for his dedicated service to the ASCAP Board of Directors, the Symphony & Concert Committee, and to his ASCAP colleagues.

  • So Percussion—Eric Beach, Josh Quillan, Adam Sliwinski, Jason Treuting: In their 10th Anniversary Season, ASCAP presents the John Cage Award to the composer/members of So Percussion for the artistry and passion with which they perform, commission, record and champion the music of our time.

  • Francisco J. Núñez: ASCAP presents the Victor Herbert Award to its distinguished member, Composer, Arranger, Conductor, Artistic Director and Founder of the Young People’s Chorus of New York City for his commitment to music education, to the enrichment of the choral repertory, and his dedication to musical excellence.

  • Kristin Lancino, Vice President of G. Schirmer, Inc: Recipient of the first annual ASCAP Arnold Broido Award for her innovative leadership in the field of Music Publishing.

Recipients of the 2009 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards (reported previously) were also presented and congratulated.(—Condensed from the press release)

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.