Boosey & Hawkes Signs Sean Shepherd

Boosey & Hawkes Signs Sean Shepherd

Sean Shepherd
Sean Shepherd
Listen to an excerpt of Shepherd’s These Particular Circumstances

Boosey & Hawkes, Inc. has announced the addition of Sean Shepherd (b. 1979) to its roster of composers. By exclusive agreement, Boosey & Hawkes now represents Shepherd’s existing catalog of orchestral and chamber music as well as future works worldwide.

Shepherd’s recent works are scheduled for performances at the New World, BBC, and National Symphonies, at festivals in Aldeburgh, Santa Fe, and La Jolla, and with chamber ensembles such as the Scharoun Ensemble Berlin and Amsterdam’s Asko|Schönberg Ensemble. As the 2011-2012 Daniel R. Lewis Young Composer Fellow of the Cleveland Orchestra, he will participate in rehearsals, masterclasses, and educational activities in the Northeast Ohio community, take part in the orchestra’s Miami residency, and compose a new work that will be premiered during the Cleveland Orchestra’s 2012-2013 season. Shepherd will also continue his post as the first-ever composer-in-residence of the Reno Philharmonic, his hometown orchestra, which is performing two new works by the composer under Music Director Laura Jackson.

Shepherd’s Wanderlust, premiered in 2009 with the Cleveland Orchestra, will once again bring him to Severance Hall with Franz Welser-Möst in 2012. Wanderlust will also be performed by the National Symphony Orchestra in November 2011, with Oliver Knussen at the podium. In early 2012, Shepherd will see performances of two new commissioned works: one for the Ensemble Intercontemporain and conductor Susanna Mälkki, which will receive premieres in Paris and Cologne, and another for the Claremont Trio at the opening of the new concert hall at Boston’s Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum. In 2010, New York Philharmonic Music Director Alan Gilbert led the world premiere of These Particular Circumstances, commissioned by the ensemble for the inaugural new music series CONTACT!.

Originally from Reno, Nevada, and now residing in New York City, Shepherd’s graduate studies include a master’s degree from The Juilliard School, where he studied with composer Robert Beaser, and doctoral work at Cornell University with Roberto Sierra and Steven Stucky. Shepherd also holds degrees in composition and bassoon performance from Indiana University. Active as a writer on music as well, his commentary has appeared in Playbill, WQXR’s Q2 online blog, and here on NewMusicBox.

Shepherd returns as a regular contributing blogger to NewMusicBox on Monday.

(—from the press release)

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

One thought on “Boosey & Hawkes Signs Sean Shepherd

  1. Pingback: Get up to speed on the latest Duke Performances news.

Comments are closed.