Bush Foundation Awards $50,000 Fellowships to 15 Artists

Bush Foundation Awards $50,000 Fellowships to 15 Artists


The Bush Foundation has awarded fellowships to 15 artists, chosen from a competitive field of 414 applicants. They will each receive a total of $50,000 in unrestricted funds and professional development support designed to deepen and advance their work and to foster their careers as artists.

This year’s fellowships focused on performing and literary arts. Those with connection to music performance and composition are:

  • Keith Bear (O’Mashi! Ryu Ta – “Northern Lights”) (New Town, ND), traditional and ethnic performing arts
  • Maura Bosch (Minneapolis, MN), music composition
  • Greg Herriges (Minneapolis, MN), music composition
  • Laura MacKenzie (Saint Paul, MN), traditional and ethnic performing arts
  • Peter Mayer (Stillwater, MN), music composition
  • Thomas Scott (Minneapolis, MN), music composition
  • Dáithí Sproule (West Saint Paul, MN), traditional and ethnic performing arts

Additional information on the Bush Fellowships and the individual awardees is available here.

The panelists for a music composition-specific preliminary round included Don Byron, Composer and Musician (Boiceville, NY); Michael Ching, Composer and Artistic Director (Opera Memphis, Memphis, TN); and Mary Jane Leach, Composer (Valley Falls, NY). The final group of 15 fellows was selected by a panel made up of Ching; Meg Glaser, Artistic Director, Western Folklife Center (Elko, NV); Rinde Eckert, Writer, Composer, Performer and Director (Nyack, NY); Elizabeth Bennett, Dramaturg and Arts Administrator (Brooklyn, NY); and Jewelle Gomez, Novelist and Grantmaker (San Francisco, CA). (—Condensed from the press release)

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.