Guggenheim Fellowship Awards Announced for 2001

Guggenheim Fellowship Awards Announced for 2001

Results of the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation‘s seventy-seventh annual U.S. and Canadian competition were announced on April 12, 2001 by Foundation President Joel Conarroe. The year 2001 Fellowship winners include 183 artists, scholars, and scientists selected from over 2700 applicants for awards totaling $6,588,000. Decisions are based on recommendations from hundreds of expert advisors, and are approved by the Foundation’s Board of Trustees, which includes seven members who are themselves past Fellows of the Foundation: Joyce Carol Oates, Richard A. Rifkind, Charles A. Ryskamp, Jean Strouse, Wendy Wasserstein, Ellen Taaffe Zwilich, and Joel Conarroe.

This year’s Guggenheim Fellows in Music are composers Ray Anderson, William Baker, Gregory D’Alessio, Daniel S. Godfrey, Daniel W. Koontz, Ricardo Llorca, Cindy McTee, Kevin Matthew Puts, Jeffrey Stock, and Arlene Zallman; and scholars and writers Joseph Horowitz and Susan Youens.

For more information on Cindy McTee, please click here.

For more information on Kevin Puts, please click here.

For more information on Susan Youens, please click here.

For more information on Joseph Horowitz, please click here.

Since 1925, the Foundation has granted more than $198 million in Fellowships to nearly 15, 000 individuals. The Foundation’s scores of advisory panels make recommendations to the Committee of Selection, whose members this year are Roger D. Abrahams, Hum Rosen Professor of Folklore and Folklife, University of Pennsylvania; Natalie Zemon Davis, Senior Fellow, Centre for Comparative Literature, University of Toronto; Edward M. Hirsch, Poet and Professor of English, University of Houston; Peter H. Raven, Director, Missouri Botanical Garden and Engelmann Professor of Botany, Washington University; J. Robert Schrieffer, University Eminent Scholar Professor, the State of Florida University System and Chief Scientist, National High Magnetic Field Laboratory, Tallahassee; and committee chair Neil J. Smelser, Director, Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences.

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.