Historical List of American Music Center Award Recipients

Historical List of American Music Center Award Recipients

Founders Award

2002: Betty Freeman; Lou Harrison (in memoriam)
2001: John Duffy
1999: Elliott Carter

Letter of Distinction

2003: George Crumb; Ronald Freed (in memoriam); Kyle Gann; Steve Reich; Wayne Shorter
2002: Henry Cowell (in memoriam); Phyllis Curtin; Sylvia Goldstein, Ursula Oppens, John Schaefer
2001: Donald Erb, Hale Smith, Mark Swed, Lyn Austin (in memoriam), Teresa Sterne (in memoriam)
2000: Composers Recordings, Inc.; John Harbison; Robert Hurwitz; K. Robert Schwarz (in memoriam); Michael Tilson Thomas
1999: Ellis Freedman; Philip Glass; California EAR Unit; Harvey Lichtenstein; Mel Powell (in memoriam)
1998: Arnold Broido; Yo-Yo Ma; George Walker; Bette Snapp (in memoriam)
1997: Merce Cunningham; Tania Leon; Paul Sperry; Jacob Druckman (in memoriam)
1996: Earle Brown; Thomas Buckner; Randy Weston; Ulysses Kay (in memoriam)
1995: Ed London and the Cleveland Chamber Symphony; Max Roach; Gregg Smith
1994: David Baker; Arthur Cohn; Francis Goelet
1993: Morton Gould; Modern Jazz Quartet; Dizzy Gillespie (in memoriam); Stephen Albert (in memoriam)
1992: (none awarded due to schedule change)
1991: Bang On A Can; New World Records; Mary Flagler Cary Charitable Trust
1990: Muhal Richard Abrams; Pauline Oliveros; Lawrence Leighton Smith and the Louisville Orchestra
1989: Leo Ornstein; Minna Lederman Daniels; and Jan DeGaetani (in memoriam)
1988: Cecil Taylor; Sylvia Smith and Smith Publications; Peter Garland and Soundings Press
1987: Ornette Coleman; Kronos Quartet; Morton Feldman (in memoriam); Vincent Persichetti (in memoriam)
1986: Lou Harrison; Betty Freeman
1985: Gunther Schuller; Margaret Jory (in memoriam); Leonard Fleischer of Exxon, Howard Klein of the Rockefeller Foundation, and Frank Hodsoll of the National Endowment for the Arts for the Meet the Composer Orchestra Residencies Program
1984: Milton Babbitt; KPFA/Charles Amirkhanian; St. Louis Symphony/Leonard Slatkin
1983: Robert Erickson; C.F. Peters Corporation/Evelyn Hinrichsen; Paul Jacobs (in memoriam)
1982: Henry Brant; Institute for Studies in American Music/H.Wiley Hitchcock, founding director; Robert Miller (in memoriam)
1981: Conlon Nancarrow; American Composers Orchestra/Francis Thorne, Dennis Russell Davies
1980: Meet the Composer/John Duffy; Samuel Barber
1979: John Cage; Lawrence Morton
1978: Leonard Bernstein; Nicolas Slonimsky
1977: Hugo Weisgall; Martin Bookspan
1976: Virgil Thomson; Paul Fromm
1975: Aaron Copland; Otto Luening
1974: Koussevitsky Foundation; Olga Koussevitsky
1973: Elliott Carter; Roy Harris
1972: Hugo Weisgall; Max Pollikoff
1971: Howard Hanson; Roger Sessions
1970: Aaron Copland; Leopold Stokowski; Benjamin Steinberg
1969: Stefan Wolpe; George Balanchine; Samuel Rosenbaum
1968: Roger Sessions; Alberto Ginestera
1967: William Schuman
1965: Adele Addison; Milton Feist; Henry Allen Moe; Thomas Scherman
1964: Claire Reis; Donald Engle; Richard Franko Goldman; Virgil Thomson

Trailblazer Awards

2003: George Steel; John Zorn

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.