Music Alive Participants Announced

Music Alive Participants Announced

Meet The Composer and the American Symphony Orchestra League announced the selection of participants for the latest round of the Music Alive program. During the 2006-09 cycle of Music Alive, ten composers and six orchestras have been selected to participate in extended residencies of one to three years, while seven composers and seven orchestras have been selected to participate in short-term residencies of two to eight weeks. The residency selection decisions were made by a panel comprised of Apo Hsu (conductor), Ingram Marshall (composer), Cindy McTee (composer), Lee Koonce (Executive Director, Opus 118), and Theodore Wiprud (composer and Director of Education, New York Philharmonic). The following is a complete list of recipients:

Extended residencies:

American Composers Orchestra
Derek Bermel (3 years)

Boston Modern Orchestra Project
Lisa Bielawa (3 years)

Green Bay Symphony Orchestra
Jennifer Higdon, Daniel Kellogg, Philip Rothman (3 years)

St. Paul Chamber Orchestra
Chen Yi, Lee Hyla, Fred Lerdahl (3 years)

Vermont Symphony Orchestra
David Ludwig (3 years)

Westfield Symphony Orchestra
Zhou Long (1 year)

Short-term residencies:

Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Michael Gandolfi (3 weeks)

Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra
Charles Coleman (5 weeks)

Delaware Symphony Orchestra
David Lang (2 weeks)

Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra
Eric Ewazen (2 weeks)

Milwaukee Youth Symphony Orchestra
Jeffrey Mumford (2 weeks)

Puerto Rico Symphony Orchestra
Roberto Sierra (2 weeks)

Stockton Symphony
Chris Brubeck (5 weeks)

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.