Counterstream Radio
New Music Streaming 24/7
New Music Playlists
Browse Music, Video, Interviews and more.

New Music USA Board & Councils

New Music USA Board of Directors


Reena Esmail, Co-Chair (Composer; Co-Artistic Director of Shastra)

Joseph Walker, Co-Chair (Vice Chairman, Investment Banking, JP Morgan; Board Member, Roulette)

Amy Iwano, Vice-Chair (Executive Director, University of Chicago Presents)

Matías Tarnopolsky, Secretary (President and CEO, The Philadelphia Orchestra Association)

Steven Tresnan, Treasurer (Private Wealth Advisor, The Bahnsen Group)

Vanessa Reed, President and CEO


Aja Burrell Wood (Managing Director, Berklee Institute of Jazz and Gender Justice; Ethnomusicologist, Curator, Violinist)

Dorothea Endicott (Arts Administrator and Composer)

James Kendrick (Attorney at Law, Alter, Kendrick & Baron, LLP; Acting President, European American Distributors LLC)

Alan Kornberg (Partner, Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison)

Chere Lott (Attorney at Law and Real Estate Broker, Chere D. Lott and Associates)

Marya Martin (Founder and Artistic Director, Bridgehampton Chamber Music Festival)

Phyllis Mills (Philanthropist)

Gayle Morgan (Former Program Officer, Mary Flagler Cary Charitable Trust)

Barbara Petersen (Former Assistant VP, BMI Classical, and Musicologist)

Angelica Sanchez – Baisley Powell Elebash Fund Artist Board Member (Composer; Lecturer, Princeton University; Lecturer, New School of Jazz and Contemporary Music)

Susan Wegleitner (Managing Director and Group Head at J.P. Morgan)

Joseph Young (Music Director, Berkeley Symphony; Artistic Director of Ensembles, Peabody Conservatory; Conductor)

Frederick Peters, Chair Emeritus

Steven Stucky, Founding Member In Memoriam

Steve Reich, Trustee Emeritus

Frances Richard, Honorary Director

Advisory Council

The Advisory Council enables active artists and practitioners to be involved in New Music USA’s developing program, partnerships, networks, and funder relationships. The role of this less-formal group is:  

  • to support CEO/New Music USA Board on an ad hoc, individual basis with ideas, partners and funders  
  • to identify and provide introductions to individuals who could play a productive role in the organization in some way, as panelists, writers, patrons, Board members, etc.

Teddy Abrams (Music Director and Conductor)

Marin Alsop (Music Director and Conductor)

Jonathan Bailey Holland (Composer)

Jeff Beal (Composer, Jazz Instrumentalist)

Kathryn Bostic (Composer, Artist)

Kris Bowers (Composer, Pianist)

Terri-Lyne Carrington (Composer, Artist, Educator)

Tamar-Kali (Artist, Composer)

Rhiannon Giddens (Musician Singer-Songwriter, Banjoist)

Tania León (Composer, Conductor, Educator)

George Lewis (Composer, Performer, Scholar)

Nico Muhly (Composer, Collaborator, Arranger)

Matana Roberts (Saxophonist, Composer, Multidisciplinary Artist)

Kamala Sankaram (Composer, Instrumentalist)

Jeanine Tesori (Composer, Musical Arranger)

Brandee Younger (Composer, Artist)

Miguel Zenon (Saxophonist, Composer, Educator)

New Music USA Program Council  

New Music USA’s Program Council enables artistspractitioners and others from the new music community from across the US to bring ideas, contribute feedback and advise staff on New Music USA activities and the changing needs of the field. Membership aligns with our vision for an equitable music ecosystem by including artists and other practitioners who reflect the diversity of our music community across geography, race, generation, artistic practice and genre. Meetings take place quarterly.  Program Council meetings complement the active dialogue and relationships New Music USA has through its daily work with the community.


Arooj Aftab, New York

Ambrose Akinmusire, California

Raven Chacon, New Mexico

Sebastian Currier, New York

Amanda Ekery, Texas

Jennifer Jolley, Texas

David Ludwig, Pennsylvania

Gustavo Matamoros, Florida

Angélica Negrón, New York

Sam Newsome, New York

Frances Pollock, Connecticut

Jake Runestad, Minnesota

Carlos Simon, Washington DC

David Skidmore, Illinois

Derrick Spiva, California

Omar Thomas, Texas

Sakari Dixon Vanderveer, California

Artists, Administrators, Presenters, Curators  

Amanda DeBoer, Nebraska

Ashleigh Gordon, Massachusetts

Chelsey Green, California

Aaron Greenwald, Tennessee

Alex Laing, Arizona

Flor Lizbeth Cruz Longoria, Missouri

Maggie Molloy, Washington

Jannina Norpoth, New York/Michigan

Valerie Sainte-Agathe, California

Ashley Shabankareh, Louisiana