Academy of Arts and Letters Announces 2013 Music Awardees

Academy of Arts and Letters Announces 2013 Music Awardees


The American Academy of Arts and Letters announced today the sixteen recipients of this year’s awards in music, which total $185,000. The winners were selected by a committee of Academy members: Ezra Laderman (chairman), Samuel Adler, David Del Tredici, John Harbison, Tania León, Fred Lerdahl, and Joan Tower. The awards will be presented at the Academy’s annual Ceremonial in May. Candidates for music awards are nominated by the 250 members of the Academy.

Arts and Letters Awards in Music

Four composers will each receive a $7500 Arts and Letters Award in Music, which honors outstanding artistic achievement and acknowledges the composer who has arrived at his or her own voice. Each will receive an additional $7500 toward the recording of one work. The winners are Steven Burke, Tom Cipullo, Donald Crockett, and Kamran Ince.

Benjamin H. Danks Award in Music

Adam Roberts will receive the $20,000 Benjamin H. Danks Award in Music. This award is given in rotation to a composer of ensemble works, a playwright, and a writer, and is made possible through a gift from Roy Linden Danks to encourage young talent.

Walter Hinrichsen Award

Arthur V. Kreiger will receive the Walter Hinrichsen Award for the publication of a work by a gifted composer. This award was established by the C. F. Peters Corporation, music publishers, in 1984.

Goddard Lieberson Fellowships

Two Goddard Lieberson Fellowships of $15,000, endowed in 1978 by the CBS Foundation, are given to mid-career composers of exceptional gifts. This year they will go to Daniel Ott and Kate Soper.

Charles Ives Fellowships

Harmony Ives, the widow of Charles Ives, bequeathed to the Academy the royalties of Charles Ives’ music, which has enabled the Academy to give the Ives awards in composition since 1970. Two Charles Ives Fellowships, of $15,000 each, will be awarded to David Fulmer and Ted Hearne.

Charles Ives Scholarships

Joshua Cody, Stephen Feigenbaum, Patrick Harlin, Tonia Ko, Michael Lee, and Elizabeth Ogonek will receive Charles Ives Scholarships of $7500, given to composition students of great promise.

(from the press release)

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

3 thoughts on “Academy of Arts and Letters Announces 2013 Music Awardees

  1. Pingback: Mizzou New Music Initiative in the news | Mizzou New Music Initiative News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.