ACO Announces 21st Annual Underwood New Music Readings

ACO Announces 21st Annual Underwood New Music Readings

Ryan Chase, Peter Fahey, Michael-Thomas Foumai, Paul Kerekes, Pin Hsin Lin, and Benjamin Taylor have been selected to participate in the American Composers Orchestra’s 21st Annual Underwood New Music Readings. Chosen from among more than 250 submissions, these six composers in the early stages of their professional careers represent a broad spectrum of musical backgrounds and sound worlds. Following the readings, one composer will be chosen to receive a $15,000 commission to write a new piece for ACO, to be premiered during the orchestra’s 2013-2014 season.

The readings will take place June 1-2, 2012, at the DiMenna Center for Classical Music in New York City and include two public events—a working rehearsal on June 1 at 10 a.m. and a run-through on June 2 at 7:30 p.m. Both events are free and audience members will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite pieces during each session. The winning composer will be commissioned to compose an original mobile phone ringtone that will be made available free of charge to everyone who voted.

The 21st Annual Underwood New Music Readings are under the direction of ACO’s Artistic Director Robert Beaser, and will be led by ACO Music Director George Manahan, with ACO Creative Advisor Derek Bermel and mentor composers Melinda Wagner and Steven Stucky. The conductors, mentor composers, and principal players from ACO provide critical feedback to each of the participants during and after the sessions.

In addition, a professional development seminar will be offered on June 2 from 10 a.m.-2:30 p.m. at the DiMenna Center. Workshop topics include “Intellectual Property and Copyright Law,” “Engraving and Self-Publishing,” “Support and Fundraising for Composers,” “Creating Your Personal Brand,” and “Publicity and Promotion.” The cost for the seminar is $25, which includes lunch. Reservations can be made here.

(—from the press release)

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

One thought on “ACO Announces 21st Annual Underwood New Music Readings

  1. Pingback: Zach Herchen – Benjamin Taylor selected for ACO reading

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.