AMPPR Board Members Talk About Radio

AMPPR Board Members Talk About Radio

Photos of six participants in radio discussion

Members of the board of directors of AMPPR (pictured left to right): Beverley Ervine (Photo by Jo McCarty); Chris Kohtz; Boyce Lancaster (Photo by Jo McCarty); Robert J. Lurtsema; Deanne Poulos (Photo by David Crowle); and Lois Reitzes.

A conversation with:
Beverley Ervine, Outgoing AMPPR President (1997-2000) and Current VP Sponsorship (until 2003) and Music Director of WOSU-FM (Columbus, OH);
Chris Kohtz, AMPPR Board Member (until 2002) and Program Director of WGUC-FM (Cincinnati, OH);
Boyce Lancaster, Host on WOSU-FM;
Robert J. Lurtsema, AMPPR VP Publications (until 2003) and the Host of Morning Pro Musica, WGBH-FM (Boston MA);
Deanne Poulos, AMPPR Treasurer and Publicity Director (Until 2002) and Announcer and PSA Director for KBAQ-FM (Phoenix AZ-area);
and Lois Reitzes, Outgoing VP Programming (1997-2000) for AMPPR and Program Director and Announcer at WABE-FM (Atlanta, GA).

Recorded by Frank J. Oteri during the 2000 Conference of the American Music Personnel in Public Radio
at the Double Tree Hotel om New Orleans, LA
Wednesday, February 16, 2000, 3:00-5:00 p.m.

Transcribed by Karyn Joaquino

Inner pages:

  • Getting into the Radio Business
  • Choosing Music
  • Broadcasting Contemporary Music
  • Mixing the Repertoire
  • How Radio Differs from Other Media
  • What Doesn’t Belong on Public Radio?
  • Who Programs the Music?
  • How is Public Radio Different from Commercial Radio?
  • Get Acrobat Reader
    free download

    NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.