ASCAP Adventurous Programming Awards Presented at League Conference

ASCAP Adventurous Programming Awards Presented at League Conference

ASCAP (the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers) joined the League of American Orchestras in presenting 26 awards to orchestras who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to contemporary composers at a special Awards Presentation held yesterday during the League’s 66th National Conference in Minneapolis. Cia Toscanini, ASCAP Assistant Vice President of Concert Music, presented the awards to American orchestras whose past season prominently featured music written within the last 25 years.

The winners are:

John S. Edwards Award for Strongest Commitment to New American Music:
Alabama Symphony Orchestra – Justin Brown, Musical Director and Principal Conductor

Morton Gould Award for Innovative Programming:
Los Angeles Philharmonic – Gustavo Dudamel, Music Director
Leonard Bernstein Award for Educational Programming:
Minnesota Orchestra – Osmo Vänskä, Music Director

Awards for Programming of Contemporary Music:

Group 1 Orchestras (expenses more than $15.9 million):
1st Place: New York Philharmonic – Alan Gilbert, Music Director
2nd Place: The Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra
3rd Place: Nashville Symphony Orchestra – Giancarlo Guerrero, Music Director

Group 2 Orchestras (expenses $7.5 million – $15.9 million):
1st Place: New World Symphony – Michael Tilson Thomas, Artistic Director
2nd Place: Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra – JoAnn Falletta, Music Director
3rd Place: Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra – Jeffrey Kahane, Music Director

Group 3/4 Orchestras (expenses $2.0 million – $7.5 million):
1st Place: Albany Symphony Orchestra (NY) – David Alan Miller, Music Director and Conductor
2nd Place: The New Haven Symphony Orchestra – William Boughton, Music Director
3rd Place: Dayton Philharmonic – Neal Gittleman, Music Director and Conductor

Group 5/6 Orchestras (expenses $550,000 – $2.0 million):
1st Place: American Composers Orchestra – Robert Beaser, Artistic Director/George Manahan, Music Director, Derek Bermel, Creative Advisor
2nd Place: Berkeley Symphony – Joana Carneiro, Music Director
3rd Place: Princeton Symphony Orchestra – Rossen Milanov, Music Director, Princeton Symphony Orchestra

Group 7/8 Orchestras (expenses less than $550,000):
1st Place: The New England Philharmonic – Richard Pittman, Music Director and Conductor
2nd Place: Yakima Symphony Orchestra – Lawrence Golan, The Helen N. Jewett Music Director
3rd Place: Pioneer Valley Symphony – Paul Phillips, Music Director and Conductor

Collegiate Orchestras:
1st Place: Ithaca College Symphony Orchestra – Jeffery Meyer, Director of Orchestras
2nd Place: Lamont Symphony Orchestra – Lawrence Golan, Music Director and Conductor
3rd Place: Cornell University Orchestras – Chris Younghoon Kim, Director of Orchestras

Youth Orchestras:
1st Place: Chicago Youth Symphony Orchestras – Allen Tinkham, Music Director
2nd Place: Empire State Youth Orchestras – Helen Cha-Pyo, Music Director and Youth Orchestra Conductor
3rd Place: New York Youth Symphony – Ryan McAdams, Music Director

1st Place: Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music – Marin Alsop, Music Director and Conductor
2nd Place: Aspen Music Festival and School – Asadour Santourian, Vice President for Artistic Administration and Artistic Advisor

(—from the press release)

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.