ASCAP Announces Adventurous Programming Awards In Chamber Music

ASCAP Announces Adventurous Programming Awards In Chamber Music

ASCAP has announced the ensembles, festivals, and presenter members of Chamber Music America who have won this year’s Adventurous Programming Awards.

The awards are designed to provide special recognition and encouragement to members of Chamber Music America that have prominently featured works written within the past twenty-five years during their previous season. The winners are chosen by a panel selected by Chamber Music America and receive cash awards and plaques.

The 2011 recipients are listed below by category:

Large Presenter—Mixed Repertory
Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center (College Park, MD)

Large Presenter—Contemporary
Contemporary Museum’s Mobtown Modern Music Series (Baltimore, MD)

Large Presenter—Jazz
Jazz Gallery (New York, NY)

Small Presenter—Mixed Repertory
Ojai Music Festival (Ojai, CA)

Small Presenter—Contemporary
Present Music (Milwaukee, WI)

Ensemble—Mixed Repertory
Voxare String Quartet (New York, NY)

John Escreet Project (Brooklyn, NY)

California E.A.R. Unit (Castaic, CA)

The winners will be publicly honored at the 33rd Chamber Music America National Conference on January 15, 2011. The ceremony will take place at 5:00 p.m. at the Westin New York at Times Square (207 W. 43rd Street) in New York City. Frances Richard, ASCAP vice president and director of concert music, will present the awards.

(—condensed from the press release)

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.