ASCAP Foundation Announces 2012 Morton Gould Young Composer Awardees

ASCAP Foundation Announces 2012 Morton Gould Young Composer Awardees

ASCAP Foundation President Paul Williams has announced the recipients of the 2012 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards. The award-winning composers share prizes of over $40,000 and receive complimentary copies of Sibelius software. They will be recognized at the annual ASCAP Concert Music Awards at Merkin Concert Hall in New York on May 24, 2012.

The 2012 Morton Gould Young Composer Award recipients are listed with their current residence and place of origin, if different, in parentheses:

David Biedenbender of Ann Arbor, MI (Waukesha, WI)
William David Cooper of Davis, CA (Rocky Mount, CA)
Derek David of Boston, MA (Los Angeles, CA)
Simon Frisch of New York, NY
Michael Gilbertson of New Haven, CT (Dubuque, IA)
Ted Goldman of Rochester, NY (New York, NY)
Peng-Peng Gong of New York, NY (Nanjing, China)
Ross Griffey of Seabrook, TX (Nassau Bay, TX)
Ted Hearne of Brooklyn, NY (Chicago, IL)
David Hertzberg of New York, NY (Santa Monica, CA)
Andrew Hsu of Philadelphia, PA (Fremont, CA)
Emily Koh of Waltham, MA (Singapore)
Michael Lee of New York, NY (Atlanta, GA)
Maxwell J. McKee of Annandale-on-Hudson, NY (Montclair, NJ)
Jared Abraham Miller of New York, NY (Los Angeles, CA)
Eric Nathan of New York, NY
Gity H. Razaz of New York, NY (Tehran, Iran)
Kathryn Salfelder of Fairlawn, NJ (Paterson, NJ)
Nathan Shields of Poughkeepsie, NY (Traverse City, MI)
Mike Sweeney of Bloomington, IN (Albert Lea, MN)
Roger Zare of Ann Arbor, MI (Sarasota, FL)

The youngest ASCAP Foundation composer Award recipients range in age from 12 to 18 and are listed by state of residence:

Miles Jefferson Friday, age 18 (WA)
Tengku Ahmad Irfan, age 13 (NY)
Anna Larsen, age 12 (MA)
Yeeren I. Low, age 15 (PA)
John Peter Redmond, age 12 (NY)
Thomas Reeves, age 17 (NY)
Jonas Tarm, age 18 (IL)
Renata Vallecillo, age 12 (NJ)

The following composers received Honorable Mention:

Anthony R. Green of Boulder, CO (Arlington, VA)
Ian Ng of Long Island City, NY (Hong Kong, China)
Michael Schachter of Ann Arbor, MI (Boston, MA)
Matt Smith of Cleveland, OH (San Diego, CA)
Francisco Castillo Trigueros of Chicago, IL (Mexico City, Mexico)
Clinton J. Wang of New Haven, CT (Toronto, Canada)

Honorable Mention in the youngest category:

Gideon Broshy, age 18 (NY)
Emily Elizabeth Brown, age 17 (MD)
Thomas Feng, age 18 (CA)
Sidarth Jayadev, age 14 (NY)
Jake Landau, age 16 (CT)
Yeeray Low, age 17 (PA)

The ASCAP composer/judges were Samuel Adler, Eve Beglarian, Yotam Haber, Tamar Muskal, Roberto Sierra, Augusta Read Thomas, and Randall Woolf.

(—from the press release)

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.