Caleb Burhans Awarded Annenberg Fellowship

Caleb Burhans Awarded Annenberg Fellowship

Caleb Burhans

Caleb Burhans has recently received a Leonore Annenberg Fellowship in the Performing and Visual Arts. The grant assists promising young artists in the pursuit of successful careers in their respective fields.

The fellowships are part of a philanthropic initiative established in 2007 by Leonore Annenberg and were awarded for the first time last year. Burhans, one of only four artists to receive a Leonore Annenberg Fellowship this year, and the only musician to be so honored, will be awarded a two-year grant of $153,000. The other grant recipients include visual artist Ángel Otero, dancer Constance Stamatiou, and theater artist Jonathan Martin.

A composer, countertenor, and multi-instrumentalist, Burhans (b. 1980) has been an interpreter of both early and new musics, as well as electronic and techno music. He has collaborated with Philip Glass, Lou Harrison, David Liptak, Brad Lubman, Steve Reich, Augusta Read Thomas, and La Monte Young, and is a regular member of groups including ACME, Alarm Will Sound, Beyondo, Bleknlok, Escort, itsnotyouitsme, Newspeak, Signal, Trinity Wall Street Choir, and the Wordless Music Orchestra. He has also performed with the indie rock band The Hold Steady and appears on two of their albums. Burhan’s own compositions include In Time of Desperation for solo piano, recently released on innova in a performance by Danny Holt, and oh ye of little faith . . . (do you know where your children are?) for chamber orchestra, which was commissioned by Lincoln Center for the re-opening of Alice Tully Hall earlier this year.(—culled from the press release)

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.