CAP Recording Awards Announced

CAP Recording Awards Announced

This is the second year of the Composers Assistance Program – Recording. We’re very pleased to announce New Music USA’s support for fifteen exemplary recording projects. Download the Press Release for the full details, and if you’re interested in applying, stay tuned for next year’s deadline! This year’s deadline was July 14.

Full Press Release


List of awardees:

CALDER QUARTET (Los Angeles, CA) records works commissioned by the Carlsbad Music Festival featuring composers Ryan Carter, Tristan Perich, Nathan Davis and Daniel Wohl on Airplane Ears Records.

ANTHONY CHEUNG (Cambridge, MA) will self-release his first professional recording of his small ensemble works with Talea Ensemble.

MARIO DIAZ DE LEON (New York, NY) will also have an opportunity to record his music with Talea Ensemble who originally premiered all three works. The album will be released on Shinkoyo Records.

ENSEMBLE PAMPLEMOUSSE (New York, NY) embark on their project Raanna Jedaku, including works by Rama Gottfried, Andrew Greenwald and Natacha Diels with Carrier Records.

JOEL HARRISON (Brooklyn, NY) records the album Infinite Possibility with his large jazz ensemble, to be released on Sunnyside Records.

GUY KLUCEVEK, (Staten Island, NY), composer/accordionist, embarks on a self-produced recording project titled The Multiple Personality Reunion Tour with Innova Records.

DIANE MOSER (Upper Montclair, NJ) and the Diane Moser Quintet will release her six movement suite Music for the Last Flower on Planet Arts Records.

MILES OKAZAKI (Brooklyn, NY) will release a record on Sunnyside titled Figurations for jazz quartet including the composer and musicians Miguel Zenon, Thomas Morgan and Dan Weiss.

ADAM RUDOLPH (Maplewood, NJ) and the Organic Orchestra will release an album of Rudolph’s orchestral works completing their first studio recording together.

JOSHUA SCHNEIDER (Brooklyn, NY) and his EasyBake Orchestra begin documenting his large ensemble music to culminate in his first recorded album.

ARLENE SIERRA (Sheffield, MA) releases her milestone recording with the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Quattro Mani and the Peabody Trio on Bridge Records.

MATT SLOCUM (Patterson, NJ) releases an independent jazz recording on Chandra Records with Gerald Clayton, Massimo Biolcati and the composer performing.

CHRISTINE SOUTHWORTH (Lexington, MA) will have the opportunity to record her string quartets with the Calder Quartet, Face the Music Quartet (with piano), Kronos Quartet and Gamelan Galak Tika.

D.J. SPARR (Richmond, VA) will have his first professional recording of his chamber music works released on Centaur Records with New Music Raleigh, Hexnut Ensemble, Karen Galvin and the composer performing.

MATTHEW ULERY (Chicago, IL) releases a double vinyl set of his modern chamber jazz music performed by his ensemble Loom.

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

One thought on “CAP Recording Awards Announced

  1. Pingback: Music for The Last Flower CD Release and Performance » Diane Moser

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.