winners of the 2013 Copland House Residency Awards
Copland House Announces 2013 Residency Awards

Copland House Announces 2013 Residency Awards

winners of the 2013 Copland House Residency Awards

Photo Top to Bottom: Fitch, Haddad; Hollowa, Ko; Omiccioli, Rohde; Theofanidis, Trombore
Image courtesy Dworkin & Company

Copland House has announced the names of eight American composers from five states and Great Britain selected for all-expenses-paid residencies during the 2013-14 season at Aaron Copland’s National Historic Landmark home in New York’s lower Hudson Valley.

The winners of the 2013 Copland House Residency Awards are:

Keith Fitch (47, Cleveland Heights, OH)
Saad Haddad (20, Northridge, CA)
Aaron Holloway-Nahum (30, London, UK)
Tonia Ko (24, Ithaca, NY)
Nicholas Omiccioli (31, Kansas City, MO)
Kurt Rohde (46, San Francisco, CA)
Christopher Theofanidis (45, New Haven, CT)
Dale Trumbore (25, Los Angeles, CA)

This year’s eminent jury, which included composers Eric Chasalow (himself a former Copland House resident), Daron Hagen, and Paul Moravec, reviewed the applications of 99 composers from 26 states and 5 countries.

The residents will live and work, one at a time, at Copland’s home for stays ranging from three to eight weeks. As Copland House residents, they will also become eligible for post-residency awards and performances that advance their work, including the Sylvia Goldstein Award, Borromeo String Quartet Award, Hoff-Barthelson Music School Commission, and others, and their work may be showcased in performance by the Music from Copland House ensemble.

Additional information about Copland House, its residencies, and other activities can be found at

from the press release

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

One thought on “Copland House Announces 2013 Residency Awards

  1. Pingback: Copland House Residency Award »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.