Headshots of the four 2015 Berkeley EarShot composers
Four Composers Chosen for 2nd Berkeley Symphony EarShot Readings

Four Composers Chosen for 2nd Berkeley Symphony EarShot Readings

Headshots of the four 2015 Berkeley EarShot composers

The four 2015 Berkeley EatShot composers (pictured from left to right): Ryan Carter, Emily Cooley, Natalie Williams, and Michael Laurello.

EarShot (the National Orchestral Composition Discovery Network) and the Berkeley Symphony continue their partnership for the 2014-2015 Under Construction Program, designed as an opportunity for emerging composers to develop their works with a professional orchestra. This season, four composers will have a new symphonic work workshopped and read by Berkeley Symphony at the Osher Studio in Berkeley on May 2, 2015 at 3pm (the first public unveiling of the composers’ works) and on May 3, 2015 at 7pm (a run-through of the completed pieces). The selected composers and their works, which were chosen from a national pool of applicants, are:

Ryan Carter (b. 1980): The Clock Behind Me
Emily Cooley (b. 1990): Green Go to Me
Michael Laurello (b. 1981): Promises
Natalie Williams (b. 1977): Les Chants du Maldoror

Under Construction has served as an incubator for emerging composers for more than 20 years, offering the unique opportunity to develop skills and gain practical experience in writing for a professional orchestra. Each selected composer has completed a symphonic work to be presented at two separate readings, allowing composers the chance to hear their concepts realized and audiences the opportunity to have a window into the creative process. They will receive feedback and mentoring from composers Ken Ueno and Derek Bermel in private and small group sessions, as well as from Music Director Joana Carneiro and key orchestra members. This program is the result of a new partnership with EarShot, a nationwide network of new music readings and composer-development programs. As the nation’s first ongoing, systematic program for identifying emerging orchestral composers, EarShot provides professional-level working experience with orchestras from every region of the country and increases awareness of these composers and access to their music throughout the industry. The program is administered by the American Composers Orchestra (ACO) in partnership with the American Composers Forum, the League of American Orchestras, and New Music USA.

In addition to Under Construction with Berkeley Symphony, EarShot partnerships have included the New York Philharmonic, Detroit Symphony, Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra, Colorado Symphony Orchestra, Memphis Symphony Orchestra, Nashville Symphony Orchestra, Pioneer Valley Symphony (MA), New York Youth Symphony, and the San Diego Symphony. To date, over fifty composers have been selected for New Music Readings with orchestras. For more details, visit the EarShot website.

(–from the press release)

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.