Guggenheim Fellowship Awards in the US and Canada Announced

Guggenheim Fellowship Awards in the US and Canada Announced


In its 90th annual competition for the United States and Canada, the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation has awarded 177 fellowships (including one joint fellowship) to a diverse group of 178 scholars, artists, and scientists. Appointed on the basis of prior achievement and exceptional promise, the successful candidates were chosen from a group of almost 3,000 applicants.

In the area of music composition, the awardees are:

Jamie Baum
Gene Coleman
Steve Coleman
Jesse Jones
Arthur Kampela
Mikel Kuehn
Eric Nathan
Elena Ruehr
Elliott Sharp
Stephen Taylor
Wang Lu

In the area of music research, the awardee is:

Will Crutchfield

Since its establishment in 1925, the foundation has granted more than $315 million to nearly 17,700 individuals, including scores of Nobel laureates and Pulitzer Prize-winners. More information about this year’s class of fellows is available here.

(from the press release)

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.