Jonathan Berger and Christopher Trapani Win 2016 Rome Prize

Jonathan Berger and Christopher Trapani Win 2016 Rome Prize

Jonathan Berger and Christopher Trapani are the two composer recipients of 2016 Rome Prizes. The annually awarded prizes, which are selected by independent juries through a national competition process, offer a group of scholars, artists, writers, and composers the opportunity to participate in year-long residencies at the American Academy in Rome (AAR) where they are provided with the time and space to think and pursue their individual work as part of a unique and dynamic international community. There are a total of 28 American recipients of the prize this year, a group which also includes writers, visual artists, designers, architects, landscape architects, and scholars in the field of ancient, medieval, renaissance, early modern, and modern Italian studies. In addition, six Italian scholars were offered fellowships providing a residency at AAR. The Rome Prize winners and Italian Fellows benefit from access to all Academy resources and guidance from AAR’s network of advisors as well renowned artists and scholars living at AAR as Residents throughout the year.

(—from the press release)

Jonathan Berger and Christopher Trapani

Jonathan Berger (photo by Nicholas Jensen) and Christopher Trapani (photo by Esin Pektas ).

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.