Koussevitzky Commission Winners Announced

Koussevitzky Commission Winners Announced

The Serge Koussevitzky Music Foundation in the Library of Congress and the Koussevitzky Music Foundation, Inc. have awarded commissions for new musical works to five composers. Jointly granting the commissions are the foundations and the performing organizations that will present the newly composed works.

Award winners and the groups co-sponsoring their commissions are:

Tristan Murail and YarnWire (This is Murail’s second Koussevitzky commission.)
Kaija Saariaho and Da Camera of Houston
Ronald Bruce Smith and the Del Sol Quartet
Kate Soper and Alarm Will Sound
Wang Jie and the League of Composers/ISCM (the U.S. chapter of the International Society of Contemporary Music)

The Koussevitzky Foundation does not make public the amount awarded for commissions. Applications for commissions are accepted annually. More information is available at Koussevitzky.org.

(–from the press release)

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.