Koussevitzky Foundations Announce Commission Winners

Koussevitzky Foundations Announce Commission Winners

The Serge Koussevitzky Music Foundation in the Library of Congress and the Koussevitzky Music Foundation, Inc. have awarded commissions for new musical works to eight composers. Jointly granting the commissions are the foundations and the performing organizations that will present the newly composed works.

Award winners and the groups co-sponsoring their commissions are:

John Aylward and the Washington Square Contemporary Music Society
Anthony Cheung and the Talea Ensemble
Jason Eckardt and the NOVA Chamber Music Series
Agustín Fernández and the Momenta Quartet
Jennifer Higdon and the Cypress String Quartet
Laura Kaminsky and the St. Petersburg (Russia) Chamber Philharmonic
Harold Meltzer and the San Francisco Chamber Orchestra
Benoît Mernier and the Pro Arte Quartet

Additional information about the awardees and their project plans is available here.

Serge Koussevitzky, conductor of the Boston Symphony Orchestra from 1924 to 1949, established the Koussevitzky foundations to continue his lifelong commitment to composers and new music.

Applications for commissions are accepted annually, though an announcement on the site currently notes that the commissioning program is under review and applicants are encouraged to refer to this site after January 26, 2012, for information as to any changes to the existing guidelines that may be adopted for the 2012 grant cycle.

(—from the press release)

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.