Meet The Composer Announces Awards in 3 Core Programs

Meet The Composer Announces Awards in 3 Core Programs

Meet The Composer has announced the projects and awardees for three of its core programs: Commissioning Music/USA, the Cary New Music Performance Fund, and Van Lier Fellowships. This year, MTC will award $210,000 to 18 soloists and organizations for the commission of 18 new works through Commissioning Music/USA, $220,000 in general operating support to 51 New York City-based new music ensembles through the Cary New Music Performance Fund, and two $8,000 Van Lier Fellowships for a grand total of $446,000 towards the advancement of new music.

The 2011 Van Lier Fellows are Daniel Iglesia and Reinaldo Moya. These two awardees are spearheading creative efforts within the contemporary classical, electronic, and audio‐visual communities. Each composer is creating and re‐inventing the boundaries of his respective field through vibrant and active engagement in new music across the country and globe.

Daniel Iglesia
Daniel Iglesia

Daniel Iglesia, who recently completed his doctorate at Columbia, creates music and media for humans, computers, and broad interactions of the two. An accomplished technologist, he brings ideas of computational aesthetics and elegance into both correlated electronic media and human performance, including concert works for instruments and electronics, live multimedia performance, generative and interactive installations, and collaborations with many disciplines such as theater and dance. His work has been presented at concerts and festivals throughout the U.S. and abroad, including the Experimental Media Series at the Hirshhorn Museum (Washington, D.C.), Art.Tech@The Lab (San Francisco), the Hamburger Klangwerktage (Hamburg), the Escrita Na Paisagem Festival (Evora, Portugal), the Guangdong Modern Dance Festival (Guangzhou), and the World Expo 2010 (Shanghai). His concert works have been performed by the California EAR Unit, So Percussion, the SEM Ensemble, the Talea Ensemble, the International Contemporary Ensemble, the Ostravska Banda, and many others.

Reinaldo Moya
Reinaldo Moya

Reinaldo Moya, who holds a master’s degree from The Juilliard School, creates music inspired by Latin American literature. Among his compositions are the Gabriel Garcia Márquez inspired Crónica de una Muerte Anunciada which was performed by the Da Capo Chamber Players at New York City’s Merkin Concert Hall in October 2010, String Quartet No. 1 which was premiered by the Attacca Quartet at the Museum of Modern Art in 2007, and Aurora Australis which was awarded the Walter Friedman Memorial Prize for Orchestral Composition in 2008 and was premiered by the Juilliard Orchestra under Jeffrey Milarsky in 2008. An active violinist who is originally from Venezuela, he was a founding member of the Simón Bolívar Youth Orchestra of Venezuela and performed throughout North and South America, as well as Europe under Gustavo Dudamel, Giuseppe Sinopoli and Claudio Abbado. Since relocating to New York City, Moya is a founding member of the Loki Ensemble, a new music group that seeks to present a compelling mix of 20th century classics, new works, and free improvisation.


Left Coast Chamber Ensemble
Left Coast Chamber Ensemble

Commissioning Music/USA provides national support for the commissioning and multiple performances of new works representing all styles of music. The program provides support for emerging and established composers, promotes wider knowledge and appreciation of contemporary works, and encourages organizations to work together to build the repertoire for new music. The 18 composers and commissioning entities (ensembles, venues, or soloists) receiving 2011 Commissioning Music/USA awards are:

Alvin Lucier – Americas Society
Ingram Marshall – Board of Trustees of Leland Stanford Jr. University
Claude Baker – Canton Symphony Orchestra
Keeril Makan – Either/Or, Inc.
Evan Johnson – Ensemble Dal Niente
Caleb Burhans – Fifth House Ensemble
Joseph Schwantner – Galax Quartet
Yehudi Wyner – Ilya Itin
Toby Twining – JACK Quartet
Annie Gosfield – Kathleen Supove, pianist
Paul Moravec – Kyo‐Shin‐An Arts Inc.
Kurt Rohde – Left Coast Chamber Ensemble
Paul Dresher – Lisa Moore, pianist
Julia Wolfe – Mendelssohn Club of Philadelphia
George Walker – New Jersey Symphony Orchestra
Paul Rudy – New Music Institute of Kansas City, Inc.
Mark Applebaum – San Francisco Contemporary Music Players
Eve Beglarian – Tribeca New Music Festival


Hieroglyphic Quintet at Connection Works
The Hieroglyphics Quintet from a previous Connection Works concert presented with the support of Meet The Composer’s Cary New Music Fund; Photography by Scott Friedlander ©2010, courtesy Meet The Composer

This year, the Cary New Music Performance Fund has awarded general operating support grants to a total of 51 professional music organizations and presenters in the five boroughs of New York City:

Alarm Will Sound
American Composers Alliance
American Modern Ensemble
American Opera Projects
Beth Morrison Projects
C4: The Choral Composer/Conductor Collective
Cassatt String Quartet
Connection Works
Da Capo Chamber Players
Electronic Music Foundation
Ensemble Sospeso
ETHEL’s Foundation for the Arts
Festival of New Trumpet Music
International Contemporary Ensemble
The Jazz Gallery
Keys to the Future Festival
Kyo‐Shin‐An Arts
League of Composers/ISCM
The Locrian Chamber Players
Look & Listen
Lost Dog New Music Ensemble
Mantra Percussion
Metropolis Ensemble
Momenta Quartet
Music at the Anthology
Music From China
Musical Chairs Chamber Ensemble
New York Art Ensemble
NOW Ensemble
The Phoenix Concerts
Quintet of the Americas
Red Light New Music
Roulette Intermedium
S.E.M. Ensemble
Search And Restore
So Percussion
TACT/The Actors Company Theatre
Talea Ensemble
The Tank
Washington Square Contemporary Music Society
Welltone New Music
Wet Ink Ensemble

(—from the press release)

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.