Andy Akiho and Paula Matthusen, 2014 Rome Prize winners
Rome Prize Winners Announced

Rome Prize Winners Announced

Andy Akiho and Paula Matthusen, 2014 Rome Prize winners

Andy Akiho and Paula Matthusen, Rome Prize winners

The American Academy in Rome has named the winners in the 118th annual Rome Prize Competition. Of this year’s 30 recipients, two prizes were awarded in the field of music composition.

Luciano Berio Rome Prize
Andy Akiho
Ph.D. Candidate in Music Composition, Princeton University
Composer, New York, NY
New Works for Orchestra

Elliott Carter Rome Prize
Paula Matthusen
Assistant Professor of Music, Wesleyan University
Modern Soundscapes, Ancient Structures: Sonic Pathways Between the Ancient Aqueducts and Contemporary Rome

Recipients of the Rome Prize are provided with a fellowship that includes a stipend, a study or studio, and room and board for a period of six months to two years in Rome.

The academy annually offers the Rome Prize to approximately 30 individuals, following a national competition presided over by rotating independent juries of peers in each discipline, which include ancient, medieval, Renaissance and early modern, and modern Italian studies, and literature, music composition, visual arts, architecture, landscape architecture, design, and historic preservation and conservation. The annual application deadline is November 1.

Learn more about the Rome Prize and the American Academy in Rome here.

(from the press release)

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.