12 Composers Awarded through the ACF’s 2 Jerome Foundation-funded Programs

The American Composers Forum has announced the results of two programs supported with funds from the Jerome Foundation. Ten projects totaling $80,500, from a total pool of 155 applicants, were funded this year through The Jerome Fund for New Music (JFund); awards ranged from $7,500 to $8,500. In a separately administered nomination process, three Minnesota-based creative musicians have been selected to receive Minnesota Emerging Composer Award (MECA); they will each receive $3,000. All in all, a total of 12 composers have been awarded.

According to the announcement on the ACF website, JFund program applications were considered in two separate pools: those from composers based in Minnesota, and those in which the composer is based in New York City.

The nine JFund awarded composers are:

  • Lea Bertucci (Queens, NY), who will compose a 40-minute electroacoustic percussion work for Tigue;
  • Michael Betz (Minneapolis, MN), who will compose a 15–20-minute work for marimba and electronics for percussionist Eri Isomura;
  • Wiliam Healy (New York, NY), who, in collaboration with Jack Frerer, will expand Grand Central, his 9-minute work for the group ShoutHouse into a three-movement work entitled Terminals;
  • Eric Mayson (Minneapolis, MN), who will compose a piece entitled It’s all real, it’s all fake for two musicians and five dancers for DaNCEBUMS;
  • Joel Mellin (Brooklyn, NY), who will compose an eight to ten-minute work, with the working title Nor’easter, for Gamelan Dharma Swara;
  • Martin Nevin (Brooklyn, NY), who will compose a thirty-two-minute work for chamber ensemble and vocalist entitled Scratch at the Same Table;
  • Lester St. Louis (Brooklyn, NY), who will compose A Metonym for Our New Minds, a 30-minute work for the JACK Quartet;
  • Walken Schweigert (St. Paul, MN), who will compose a 90-minute outdoor, traveling, site-responsive performance entitled The Garden that will premiere at Philadelphia Community Farm in Osceola, WI in 2020; and
  • Shelley Washington (Brooklyn, NY), who will compose a new fifteen-minute suite of miniatures, each based on a specific textile or fabric, for Bearthoven

The three MECA recipients are: Queen Drea, a sound designer/composer, vocalist and performance artist who creates conceptual soundscapes; Holly Hansen, who now creates experimental and electronic music under the moniker, Hall E-Hands Zen (aka “h.e.z.”), following a near-decade stint in the minimalist rock trio, Zoo Animal; and Ian Vaver, whose instrumental compositions are rooted in bluegrass, folk, and Americana but often branch out into blending classical and jazz motifs as well.

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.