13 Composers Among the 2017 Guggenheim Fellows

The Guggenheim Foundation has just announced the 173 recipients of 2017 Guggenheim Fellowships. Appointed on the basis of prior achievement and exceptional promise in either the creative arts, the humanities, social or natural sciences, the successful candidates were chosen from a group of almost 3,000 applicants and work in a total of forty-nine different scholarly disciplines and artistic fields, among which there are 13 composers who work in a wide array of musical disciplines ranging from chamber and orchestral music to jazz and electronics:

John Aylward
Oscar Bettison
Dániel Péter Biró
Mahir Cetiz
Cindy Cox
Ashley Fure
Annie Gosfield
Alec Hall
Shelley Hirsch
Joel Hoffman
Christopher Stark
Hans Thomalla
Jeff Watts

Since its establishment in 1925, the Guggenheim Foundation has granted more than $350 million in fellowships to over 18,000 individuals, among whom are scores of Nobel laureates, Fields Medalists, Turing Award winners, poets laureate, members of the various national academies, winners of the Pulitzer Prize, and other important, internationally recognized honors. A complete list of recipients of 2017 Guggenheim Fellowships in all of the disciplines is available on the Guggenheim Foundation website.

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.