Tyshawn Sorey, Rhiannon Giddens, and Yuval Sharon among 2017 MacArthur Fellows

The MacArthur Foundation has announced its 2017 Fellows. Among the 24 recipients, each of whom will receive a $625,000 award, are: Brooklyn-based composer/percussionist Tyshawn Sorey who seamlessly blends composition and improvisation both in his own work and in collaborations with Muhal Richard Abrams, Steve Coleman, Vijay Iyer, Wadada Leo Smith, Steve Lehman, Myra Melford, and Jen Shyu, among many others; Greensboro, North Carolina-based singer/songwriter Rhiannon Giddens, a founding member of the Carolina Chocolate Drops who recently composed music for the Kronos Quartet; and Los Angeles-based opera director/producer Yuval Sharon, who is the Artistic Director of The Industry which presented Christopher Cerrone’s 2014 Pulitzer Prize-nominated opera Invisible Cities.

“These new MacArthur Fellows bring their exceptional creativity to diverse people, places, and social challenges,” said the MacArthur Fellows Program’s Managing Director Cecilia Conrad. “Their work gives us reason for optimism and inspires us all.”

A composite of 24 photos of each of the 2017 MacArthur fellows.

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.