2018 Class of NEA Jazz Masters Announced

NEA Jazz Masters 2018

The 2018 NEA Jazz Masters are:

Joanne Brackeen – Pianist, Composer, Educator
Pat Metheny – Guitarist, Composer, Educator
Dianne Reeves – Vocalist
Todd Barkan – Club Owner, Producer, Artistic Programmer

They are receiving this honor for their lifetime achievements and exceptional contributions to the advancement of jazz. Each will receive a $25,000 award and be honored at a tribute concert on April 16, 2018 at 8:00 p.m. at the Kennedy Center. It will be free and open to the public and will also be streamed live. More information on how to obtain tickets will be available in early 2018.

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.