2018 McKnight Composer Fellows and McKnight Visiting Composers Announced

The American Composers Forum has announced the recipients of this year’s McKnight Fellowships for Composers, funded by the McKnight Foundation. These awards, which include $25,000 in unrestricted funds for each recipient, acknowledge excellence in the field of music composition. The four fellows were chosen from a pool of 50 applicants. In another McKnight funded program, two artists from outside Minnesota have been selected as the McKnight Visiting Composers. Each receives $10,000 to spend a minimum of 40 days in Minnesota pursuing a self-designed residency project.

The 2018 McKnight Composer Fellows are:

Joshua Clausen (Minneapolis, MN)
Scott L. Miller (Otsego, MN)
JC Sanford (Northfield, MN)
Tiffany M. Skidmore (Falcon Heights, MN)

The 2018 McKnight Visiting Composers are:

Volker Goetze (Staten Island, NY)
Anthony R. Green (Providence, RI)

This year’s panelists were composer/performers Marcos Balter (New York, NY), Amy Knoles (Castaic, CA), and Osnat Netzer (Cambridge, MA).

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.