MacDowell Colony Announces Fellowships to 87 Artists

The MacDowell Colony in Peterborough, New Hampshire has announced the Fellows for fall-early winter 2018 residencies. They have awarded 87 artists from 19 states and six countries. The recipients work in seven disciplines and 67 members of the incoming cohort are first-time fellows. These fellowships, each with an average value of $10,000, were selected from a pool of 642 applicants. MacDowell Fellows are selected by the admissions panels, which are comprised of a revolving group of distinguished professionals in each artistic discipline who serve anonymously for three years.

“These artists bring their diverse voices and visions, share those gifts in residence with artists of different disciplines, and no doubt their work will resonate with audiences around the world,”  says Executive Director Cheryl A. Young.

The most recent group of Fellows includes composers Bryon Asher, Armando Bayolo, Frank Carlberg, Arthur Gottschalk, Ofir Klemperer, Victor Marquez-Barrios, Kurt Rohde, and Anthony Wilson.

The MacDowell Colony awards more than 300 fellowships each year. The next application deadline is Sept. 15, 2018 for the winter-spring 2019 residency period.


NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.