Music Composition Recipients of Hewlett 50 Arts Commissions Named

The first ten of the Hewlett 50 Arts Commissions—this round in the area of music composition—have been announced. The awards are intended to support the “creation and premiere of 50 exceptional new works by world-class artists in partnership with Bay Area nonprofit organizations” in honor of the Hewlett Foundation’s 50th anniversary.

The five-year, $8 million initiative will award ten commissions annually in a total of five performing arts disciplines. In addition to this year’s awards in music composition, future rounds will support work in theater, spoken word, and musical theater; dance and multi-discipline performance art; folk and traditional arts; and film and media.

Learn more about the initiative and how to apply for a grant. Congrats to this round’s composers and commissioning partners.

Terence Blanchard
Kronos Quartet
“At War With Ourselves” explores race relations in America

Taylor Eigsti
Community School of Music and Arts
“Imagine Our Future,” a jazz piece crowdsourced from students

Jake Heggie
Music at Kohl Mansion
“Violins of Hope Bay Area Project,” using historic instruments

Laura Kaminsky
Opera Parallèle
“Today it Rains,” an opera inspired by the life of Georgia O’Keeffe

Dohee Lee
Peralta Hacienda
“MU: 9 Goddesses,” a mythological performance ritual

Jimmy López
Cal Performances at UC Berkeley
“Dreamer,” on the U.S. immigrant experience

Meredith Monk
Mills College
“Indra’s Net,” a soundscape connecting people with nature

Huang Ruo
Del Sol String Quartet
“Angel Island Oratorio,” inspired by immigrant poetry

DJ Spooky
The Internet Archive
“Sonic Web,” an acoustic portrait of the Internet

Miguel Zenón
“Golden City Suite,” rooted in San Francisco’s communities

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.