Repertoire for 2017 ISCM World Music Days in Vancouver Has Been Announced

The Canadian League of Composers and Music on Main have announced the 89 works that have been selected for performance during the 2017 World New Music Days, the International Society for Contemporary Music (ISCM)’s week-long festival which has taken place in a different location every year (Excerpt for a hiatus between 1940 and 1945) since 1923. The Canadian organizers of this year’s festival, “one of the largest contemporary music events in Canada’s history,” selected these 89 works, which will be presented in various locations throughout Vancouver from November 2-8, 2017, from over 600 compositions scored for 14 different instrumentation categories that were submitted by ISCM member organizations based on six continents as well as unaffiliated individual composers from around the world. If a member organization submits six works for consideration in at least four different instrumentation categories, the host organization is required to program at least one of the submitted works.

Among the works scheduled for performance are five works by composers based in the United States which were chosen from works submitted by The League of Composers, Stephen F. Austin State University in Nacogdoches, Texas, Florida International University in Miami, New Music USA and an individual submission:

Michael Bussewitz-Quarm:
I’ll Fly Away for unaccompanied chorus (2010)

Robert C. Coe:
Freycinet for string quartet (2016)

Geoffrey Hudson:
Suite from The Quartet Project for string quartet (2008-2014)

Friedrich Heinrich Kern:
Indigo for orchestra (2011)

Sky Macklay:
Many Many Cadences for string quartet (2014)

A complete list of the selected works is available as on the ISCM 2017 World New Music Days site.

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.