Seven Emerging Composers Chosen for 2019 Minnesota Orchestra Composer Institute

The 16th annual Composer Institute participants are TJ Cole of Lawrenceville, Georgia; Viet Cuong of Marietta, Georgia; Jonathan Cziner of New York City; Will Healy of Pelham, New York; Matthew Ricketts of New York City; Connor Elias Way of Lilburn, Georgia; and Alyssa Weinberg of Dix Hills, New York.

The selected composers will travel to Minneapolis for the orchestra’s professional training program, directed by Kevin Puts and co-presented with the American Composers Forum. The Institute runs from January 14 to 18, 2019, culminating in a Minnesota Orchestra concert conducted by Osmo Vänskä.

In addition to the seven composers chosen to participate in the Composer Institute, the panel named the following two composers as alternates: Ryan Chase and Jules Pegram. Fifteen composers were designated as runners-up: Bret Bohman, Saunder Choi, William Cooper, Rachel Epperly, Paul Frucht, Eli Greenhoe, Ross Griffey, Douglas Hertz, Shuying Li, Tim Mauthe, Chris Rogerson, Nathan Thatcher, Guang Yang, Hangrui Zhang, and Daniel Zlatkin. Cited for honorable mention are: Jacob Bancks, Alejandro Basulto, Thomas Dougherty, Baldwin Giang, Piyawat Louilarpprasert, Patrick O’Malley, William Stackpole, Dale Trumbore, and Yiguo Yan.

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.