Stacy Garrop Wins the 2018 Barlow Commission

The Barlow Endowment for Music Composition at Brigham Young University has announced that Stacy Garrop has been awarded the $12,000 Barlow Prize to compose a new work for reed quintet (oboe, saxophone, clarinet, bass clarinet, and bassoon) that will be performed by the Calefax Reed Quintet, Akropolis Reed Quintet, and the BYU Reed Quintet in 2019. The panel also granted Takuma Itoh the distinction of Honorable Mention. The judging panel selected Garrop and Itoh from among 159 submissions from 18 countries.

The video featured above was recorded during a NewMusicBox talk with Garrop in 2013. (You can read a complete transcript of it here.)

launch gallery

Established in 1985, the Barlow Prize annually awards works scored for a different specific instrumental or vocal combination which is announced the previous year. Awards were initially given to works that were already completed, but since 1995, the prize has been a commission with a consortium performance. Previous American recipients of Barlow Prize commissions include David Dzubay, Chris Theofanindis, Kevin Puts, Kenneth Frazelle, David Rakowski, Harold Meltzer, Dan Visconti, Clint Needham, and Narong Prangcharoen. In addition to the Barlow Prize, the Barlow Endowment annually awards composers through two different commissioning programs. General Composer Commissions are available to composers or performing groups “desiring collaboration for significant new musical works. Composers must already have an agreement with the performer(s) for whom they will compose the new piece.” The Barlow Endowment also funds LDS Composer Commissions which are available to composers belonging to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS) as well as composers who are willing to engage LDS subject matter. Once again, composers must already have an agreement with the performer(s) for whom they will compose the new piece.

Details about applying for the 2019 Barlow Prize have also already been announced. The winning composer will receive a $12,000 commission for “a major new work of 9-12 minutes for SATB unaccompanied choir. The work will be performed by a consortium of choirs: BYU Singers (Utah); two-time Grammy nominated choir, Seraphic Fire (Florida); and the 2017 Grammy nominated choir and Margaret Hillis Award for Choral Excellence recipient, The Crossing (Pennsylvania). The work is expected to meet the highest artistic requirements for the medium.”

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.